Tag Archives: continuing resolution

House passes bill to keep government running until November 18th

I was trying to keep track of this bill.  If I understand it correctly, it is a continuing resolution (necessary because the democrats have not passed a budget) which keeps the government funded until November 18, 2011, and contains a provision funding FEMA.

It now goes to the president for signature.

And November 18th, it will all be to do again.  What a way to run a country.

The House has passed a short-term spending
that keeps the government running for six weeks and buys time for
future budget negotiations.

The 352-66 vote sends the measure to President Barack Obama in time to avert a government shutdown at midnight.

Now, what I don’t know is what happened to the spending off-sets the conservatives were fighting for.  Sounds like it didn’t happen.

(Yes, the GOP removed the spending off sets.)

In lieu of a 2012 federal budget, the House voted 352-66 to extend current  government funding through Nov. 18. The bill, which already passed the Senate,  now moves to President Obama’s desk for his signature.

Bipartisan support for the bill came only after Republicans removed  controversial spending cuts to offset an additional $3.2 billion in funding to  the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Senate Democrats balked at the offsets, which included about $1.5 billion in  spending cuts to a Department of Energy loan program for manufacturers of fuel-efficient  cars, as well as the DOE program that awarded a loan to bankrupted solar company  Solyndra.

Read more:  http://dailycaller.com/2011/10/04/congress-avoids-government-shutdown-yet-again/#ixzz1a0pK1B9j

HR 2017:  http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/bdquery/z?d112:HR02017:@@@R#

HR 2608 House Roll #745:  http://www.govtrack.us/congress/vote.xpd?vote=h2011-745

Posted:  10/04.11 @9:11 p.m.

Leave a comment

Filed under Financial Crisis, politics, Uncategorized

Senate passes budget deal 81/19, 15 republicans vote no

The Senate vote tally was 81-19.

The 19 senators voting against the budget deal consisted of 15 Republicans, three Democrats, and one Independent –

Republicans: Tom Coburn, Mike Crapo, Jim DeMint, John Ensign, Lindsey Graham, Orrin Hatch, Jim Inhofe, Ron Johnson, Mike Lee, Rand Paul, James Risch, Marco Rubio, Richard Shelby, Pat Toomey, David Vitter

Democrats: Pat Leahy, Carl Levin, Ron Wyden

Independent: Bernie Sanders

Posted:  04.14.11 @ 8:25 p.m.

Leave a comment

Filed under Financial Crisis, politics